Safety – Car, Travel
This summer, many families will travel together, click here for some safety tips from the AAP to stay safe whether you’re taking an airplane, or car!
Motor vehicle crashes are the number one cause of death for children and adolescents ages 1 to 21. Know the laws, know the policies and keep your child safe.
- Car Safety Seat Information for Parents
A new AAP policy advises parents to keep their toddlers in rear-facing car seats until age 2, or until they reach the maximum height and weight for their seat. It also advises that most children will need to ride in a belt-positioning booster seat until they have reached 4 feet 9 inches tall and are between 8 and 12 years of age.
- Kansas Car Safety Resources
Give your child a boost! Kansas law requires children ages 4, 5, 6 and 7 be secured in a booster seat. Check out this flyer.
Kansas Booster Seat Law: www.kansasboosterseat.org
Four Steps for Kids: www.kansashighwaypatrol.org